Devil Take The Hindmost (2020 Book)

From Allan Holdsworth Information Center
Jump to: navigation, search
Ed-Chang-Cover-scaled.jpg

UPDATE, JUL 5 2020: The Jazz in Britain edition of "Devil Take The Hindmost" has sold out, and Ed Chang has published an ebook edition by himself. You can read more about it at Ed's Facebook page.

"DEVIL TAKE THE HINDMOST – The Otherworldly Music of Allan Holdsworth", a book by Ed Chang, is now open for pre-orders worldwide!

"My book on Allan Holdsworth is available for pre-order. I think it’s really good and am very proud of it. It’s unique among music books in that it concentrates on the music of the artist rather than his personal life, but is not an “instructional book”. It’s more like a map of Allan's musical mind - and a portrait of his relationships with his many great collaborators." -Ed Chang.

The Allan Holdsworth Archives would like to add that Ed's book is based on his blog "Thread Of Lunacy", which to date is the best and most comprehensive work on Allan published. We are very much looking forward to reading this book. Order yours today!

USA customers, click here to order: USA customers

Customers from the rest of the world, click here to order: Non-USA customers

You might also consider ordering the album Warleigh Manor.

Publisher's promotional text

"Devil Takes The Hindmost represents the first publication dedicated to the career of the British pioneering guitar virtuoso Allan Holdsworth. Jazz In Britain have brought author Ed Chang’s celebrated website ‘A Thread of Lunacy – Appreciation and Analysis of the Otherworldly Music of Allan Holdsworth’ to the printed page, expanded and updated from the original blog, and featuring rarely seen pictures of Allan from throughout his illustrious life The book charts the ups-and-downs of Holdsworth’s musical path, and leads the reader through every recording Allan is known to have made with extraordinary attention to detail. The book also offers a detailed breakdown of his gear down the years, as well as the most complete discography yet assembled. Spanning 412 information-packed pages, it is an absolutely essential item for fans of Allan, British jazz, and guitar lovers worldwide." -Matt Parker, Editor, Jazz In Britain

Reviews

Phil Howitt of Facelift Magazine has read an advance copy and gives his review here.